Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: Southern Food and Beverage Museum

I cannot wait for June 11!  Why you ask? IT’S MY WEDDING DAY!!!!   Warning, this blog entry might get a little girly.

These past few weeks have been filled with finalizing the cake, decorations, flowers, food and music.  All of the wedding planning that I have been doing since I was in the womb is finally coming to a happy end.

I picture the day going smoothly.  First, the bridesmaids will get ready in the morning with their makeup and hair.  I am letting the girls decide which hairstyle they would like and with the help of a few hairstylists they will be beautiful. Not that they aren’t stunningly beautiful now ;).  One rule- Absolutely no banana curls!  I have never liked banana curls and I don’t want my bridesmaids looking goofy that day. Bridezilla moment- maybe?  I’ll let you be the judge.

We will then arrive at Oak Alley Plantation later that afternoon. I will be getting ready in their bridal cottage on the plantation grounds.  I plan on calmly beautifying myself with the help of my hairstylist sister and a team of bridesmaids.

Of course I will have to see all of the décor and how it is set up before any other guest sees it.  I have to make sure it is perfect.  This may be a bridezilla moment.  The lightest of light baby pink colors and the splashes of gold will really set the mood for the evening affair.  I will also have to make sure that the flowers are perfectly arranged on the tables.

Then the guests arrive.  They will be beautifully dressed- hopefully not in white or ivory. This is not a bridezilla moment, just common sense.   As they get seated the string trio will play elegant music that starts the ceremony. Hopefully, the bridesmaids or myself won’t trip down the aisle. Although, it could make a funny story later.  And then after the ceremony we dance the night away.  What could be better?

This is how I see the night going. Let’s pray it goes smoothly.

P.S. – I will not be a bridezilla

P.S.S.- We will be having summer camp at the museum. Sojourner Truth thought it was a good idea to redo their kitchen again.

– Meaghan Reid, Tulane AmeriCorps VISTA. For more information on history, exhibits, and volunteer opportunities, please visit the Southern Food and Beverage Museum’ s website.

 

 

 

 


About Tulane VISTA

Notes from the field from the AmeriCorps VISTA team at Tulane University.

One comment on “Field Report: Southern Food and Beverage Museum

  1. Mary L. Matthews
    June 14, 2011

    Dear Meagen, I don’t know you, but I wish to offer my congradulations. Your wedding sounds lovely. Wish I were there. I have applied for Tulane VISTA (former VISTA from New York City). Please put in a word for me in the Southern Food Museum. Best Wishes Always. Sincerely, Mary L. Matthews

Comments are closed.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
