Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: The Southern Food and Beverage Museum

My First Crawfish

Keeping in line with the Southern Food mission, I will talk about food, but in a very different manner.  This topic of discussion is completely self -centered, has nothing to do with history and is purely self- indulgent.

Wondering what it is?  They are red when cooked, look like a lobster and go by the alternative name of mudbugs.  CRAWFISH!!!!!! I love CRAWFISH!  I love their color, their taste and the way they bring people together as you put off their little heads.

I had never eaten crawfish before coming to New Orleans. I heard people try to explain how to eat them and how to avoid choking on their shells if you peel them wrong.  But I put those stories aside as I walked up to 2 large rowboats full of crawfish at a Tulane Grad School party.  I was stunned.

Me: “A boat!? You actually put them in a boat?”

Crawfish lady: “Yes, a boat, it’s the best way to feed a crowd and always get a laugh.”

As I look into the boats I see sausages AND potatoes. I’m in Heaven. I tell the lady I’ll take some of everything.  I guess she could see the excitement (and fear) in my eyes as I looked at the crawfish.  As she put my scoop full on my plate, she kindly asked if I had ever eaten them. I replied “no” and then got myself a lesson on how to eat the little guys. I sat down with my plate and dug in.   The sausages and potatoes were great and then I moved on to the big pile of red things on my plate.  I hesitated.  It felt a bit barbaric to rip the heads off and twist their bodies to get the shell off, but after that first bite….. WHOA!  After that I was ripping crawfish heads off right and left! By the end, my fingers were covered with little pieces of shell and crawfish “stuff” that wet wipes could not take off.  I was a happy camper after that.  I was still hungry after peeling for an hour, so I got a big chocolate ice cream cone and finished it all.  Bottom line- I love crawfish and chocolate ice cream.  The End.

Told you it was self-indulgent.

– Meaghan Reid, Tulane AmeriCorps VISTA. For more information on history, exhibits, and volunteer opportunities, please visit the Southern Food and Beverage Museum’ s website.

About Tulane VISTA

Notes from the field from the AmeriCorps VISTA team at Tulane University.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
