Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: VISTA Leader

It is crazy how the time seems to be accelerating nowadays. I feel like it was just yesterday when I was returning from home for the Holidays. There have been some pretty big events taking place here in the Center for Public Service. We just had two VISTAs end their term of service to have two new VISTAs join our team! We are currently going strong with thirteen VISTA members serving the Greater New Orleans area.

Thank you to the Nicks for putting in such great work at the VIGOR program at City Hall and GRN.

Welcome to our new members who will be working with GRN and Grow Dat Youth Farm.

Besides getting new VISTAs it is Mardi Gras Time! I am really enjoying watching the theatricality of this holiday. So far I have got to dress up once and I know I have at least two more opportunities to do so before the season is over. I have also learned that you have to be competitive when it comes to getting those beads. Be aggressive!

Aggressive bead grabbing

Thanks to my roommate for sharing this song with me to get into the Mardi Gras spirit!

Cassie Lemon, AmeriCorps VISTA Leader, Tulane Center for Public Service

About Tulane VISTA

Notes from the field from the AmeriCorps VISTA team at Tulane University.

Information

This entry was posted on March 3, 2011 by in Uncategorized.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
