Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: Green Light of New Orleans

Wow.  Service learning is crazy.  I think I have learned my lesson and that is partnering with 5 classes in one semester is crippling.  Note to self and Green Light:  let’s cap our partnerships to around 3 or 4 classes. Yes, I know I got ambitious.  Part of my VAD was to “expand Green Light’s service learning component.”  What I didn’t realize is that I needed to do this to the extent of Green Light’s capacity.  I guess I have successfully expanded service learning, but at the expense of my sanity.

On that note, BUDDHA BLESS YOU FOR OUR DELTA 3 NCCC TEAM!!!!!

From left to right: Becky, Jessica, Michelle, Emily, Alix, Drew, Steve, and Marilu!

I honestly don’t know how the office can operate without them!   They provide capacity to Green Light’s daily functions and spice up daily office chat when work slows down.  Our team actually lives next door in Andi’s (Green Light Executive Director) house while he’s away in Switzerland.

I truly am so grateful for their hard work.

– Cynthia Corrales, AmeriCorps VISTA Visit Green Light New Orleans, to learn more about the outreach program and volunteer opportunities in your area.


About Tulane VISTA

Notes from the field from the AmeriCorps VISTA team at Tulane University.

One comment on “Field Report: Green Light of New Orleans

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Field Report: Green Light of New Orleans « VISTA Link -- Topsy.com

Comments are closed.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
