Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: The Green Project

Toilets for everyone!

I have been at the Green Project for a little over a month now and I am getting busier by the day.  As the Environmental Education Coordinator I have been tasked with restarting Saturday morning workshops, developing children’s curriculum about reuse/recycling, and creating outreach materials like pamphlets and fliers.  Throughout the past few weeks I’ve contacted a number of craftspeople and individuals working at other NOLA nonprofits to inform them about our workshops.  Now each Saturday slot for January is filled up so you can look forward to “how-to” workshops on rain barrels, solar hot water heaters, chicken coops, and composting.

The rest of my time at the Green Project has been spent on a myriad of other tasks including: creating a condensed recycling guide to distribute to surrounding residents, researching recycling outreach to low-income neighborhoods, preparing kids’ craft activities for upcoming events, setting up our workshop space, and sweeping the warehouse because it’s my favorite thing to do!  I’m looking forward to helping make the Green Project a leader in all aspects sustainable living education over the next year.

After a month I am finally settling in and developing some semblance of a routine at work and in my personal life.  After living by myself for the last 18 months it is so refreshing to have a roommate and neighbors that I can bother all the time.  I am slowly getting to know the city and have already picked out some favorite watering holes.  My doubts and fears about moving to New Orleans are quickly dissipating and I’m feeling as though I’ve landed in exactly the right place.

-Kaylie Birdsall, Tulane VISTA & Environmental Ed. Coordinator @ The Green Project. For more information about volunteer and outreach activities, please click on this link The Green Project.


About Tulane VISTA

Notes from the field from the AmeriCorps VISTA team at Tulane University.

Information

This entry was posted on December 15, 2010 by in The Green Project and tagged , , , , .

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
