Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: New Orleans Outreach

As this semester comes to a close, I have begun to look back on all that has happened since I began my VISTA year with New Orleans Outreach in July. (Its hard to believe that Im halfway done!) In doing so, I am thinking over the process of volunteer/service-learner intake, placement, and scheduling, and attempting to come up with a way to make the process sustainable following the departure of the AmeriCorps*VISTAs that our organization has had for the past five years.

When Betsy and I first began working with Outreach, our initial goal was to find a person or group of people to fulfill the role of volunteer supervisor at each school site. The initial thought was to find a long-term volunteer that was extremely dedicated and willing to put in a lot of time to fulfill this role. Although Outreach has a slew of dedicated volunteers, finding a person to fulfill this role would be quite a tall order, if you ask me. In rethinking the process, I am hopeful that many of the documents that I have created (and others that plan to create) will eliminate the need for a person to fulfill this role. Although I am aware that everyone at our organization has their hands full most the time, I am optimistic that if everyone took on a couple of easy tasks, that it would be very possible to manage volunteers with the amount of manpower that we already have. I have made request forms, templates for emails, and I have made edits to some existing documents that will hopefully make them easier to use. I am looking forward to going over these with everyone at the organization, getting their feedback, and hopefully implementing them as early as next semester if everyone is on board.

I am doing my best to create some resources and practical processes that I can leave with Outreach after my VISTA year is done, and I am hopeful that this will be a big step in achieving this goal.

 

– Allison Bakamjian AmeriCorps VISTA Member

Visit http://www.nooutreach.org/ to learn more about the Outreach program and volunteer opportunities in your area.

 

 

 

 

About Tulane VISTA

Notes from the field from the AmeriCorps VISTA team at Tulane University.

Information

This entry was posted on November 29, 2010 by in New Orleans Outreach and tagged , , , , .

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
