Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: Catholic Charities Archdiocese of New Orleans

October and November Field Report

The time has arrived; my year of service is at an end :_(. I know that this is supposed to be my October Field Report, but I’m thinking that this will probably be my last one. I don’t really know what to say or how to really sum up this year. The past few weeks have been crazy because the end seemed to sneak up on me, and I was suddenly in a panic, realizing that I was running out of time to do everything that I wanted to do. But now, my term is at an end, and I feel satisfied with everything that I have accomplished. I only hope that, since I am the last VISTA, I have laid enough groundwork so that my workload can be easily picked up by the rest of the department. Although, I have a feeling that since I will only be one floor down, I will be getting calls with questions.

To sum up the year, I merely want to say that in retrospect this year has been an invaluable experience. I’ve learned so much and changed so much from when I started as a college graduate. VISTA allows you to learn and to gain the professional experience that is so desperately needed in this job market. I know for a fact that I would not have my new job with Catholic Charities if not for the experience that I gained and the connections that I made while I was here. So, that would be my one piece of advice: meet new people, form connections, network, and never burn any bridges because you never know who you will meet and how that person might be able to help you in your job search and in your career. I know VISTA has its ups and downs, but be sure to make the most of it! – Jackie Thornton, AmeriCorps VISTA

To learn more about Catholic Charities, visit their website at: http://www.ccano.org

About Tulane VISTA

Notes from the field from the AmeriCorps VISTA team at Tulane University.

Information

This entry was posted on November 5, 2010 by in Catholic Charities Archdiocese of New Orleans and tagged , , , .

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
