Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: VISTA Leader

I want to start off by saying THANK YOU!

You guys have been so great about accepting and letting me join the VISTA family here at Tulane. I can say I definitely was a little nervous about coming into an existing group, but you guys have been great. I am glad that I got the opportunity to meet with each of you individually. You have made this transition a lot easier because of your openness and acceptance.

Speaking of transitioning…

There are definite differences between West Virginia and New Orleans. For instance, this is what I am used to seeing:

             

 Compared to the New scenery:

            

Not only have I had to make changes dealing with my environment but I’ve also had to step up my game when it came to my attire:

                             

My last major adjustment is the noise! It is huge change going from mostly listening to these at night:

 

 the cricket.
To listening to several of these:

 

 the ambulance.

You guys are great! Thanks again for your help. For some of you it is the end of your service. Good luck with your future endeavors. I wish you all the best! For those who are left…I guess you are stuck with me till you are done! -Cassie Lemon, VISTA Leader, Tulane University Center for Public Service

About Tulane VISTA

Notes from the field from the AmeriCorps VISTA team at Tulane University.

Information

This entry was posted on November 1, 2010 by in VISTA Leader and tagged , , , , , .

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
