Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: New Orleans Outreach

I came into work late today because I sang with Shades of Praise at Mitch Landrieu’s Mayoral Inauguration.  I was already feeling good about the day – a new mayor means new hope for this city.  Perhaps we’ll see some better decision making.  I found on my desk three novels and a post it saying: “Tori, you should like these. –Scott.”  Scott is one of our community volunteers.  He remembered me saying how hard it has been for me to dive into a book ever since college made reading torture.  The day isn’t over but I wouldn’t mind if that was the highlight of it.  Hopefully, I will actually read them!
 
I do a lot.  Sometimes, I feel like I should stop – but then I’d be restless.  Since the last blog I’ve performed in short plays, sang at Jazz Fest, ran a fundraiser for Baobab Leadership, flew to Maryland and back, danced and laughed.  I wanted to stay in Maryland with my family but I also wanted to be here.  I am so excited to finish my VISTA term next month, but I can’t stop myself from making a list of the many things I will miss about Outreach and New Orleans (you might get a taste of that list next time depending on how I feel :-P).
 
Basically, I’m happy. -Tori Wilson, AmeriCorps VISTA

To learn more about Tori’s work with New Orleans Outreach, visit their website at: http://www.nooutreach.org/

About Tulane VISTA

Notes from the field from the AmeriCorps VISTA team at Tulane University.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
