Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: Hollygrove Market & Farm

Hooray?! I don’t know what to make of the end of my AmeriCorps term. It’s been a great time working on a project that is in line with my own beliefs and values, but at the same time the blurred line between life & work can often get blurred, making it feel like you never have a day off. Despite this fact, I wouldn’t trade the experience for anything. The numerous projects I’ve been able to work on has vastly expanded my understanding of what it takes to run a non-profit in addition to providing me with valuable experience for future jobs.

One of the biggest lessons I’ve learned is how, at least in small non-profits, job descriptions tend to be just a formality. My main job consists of coordinating volunteers, but on any given day I could be giving farm tours, baking goods for the market, or developing the website. The variety of tasks was great most times, but when my morale was low it became overwhelming and efficiency and quality took a dive.

Regardless of these minor details, I’ve been able to build a good foundation for my successor. I’ve developed a website, increased our volunteer list by 500%, built an earthen oven, coordinated a fundraiser, and expanded our market operations. My hardest task yet will be to transfer these tasks over to my co-workers so my absence does not interfere with the operation of the market.

Hopefully whoever follows me can keep up with the ever-changing work environment of Hollygrove Market & Farm. While not always fun, and many times frustrating, I can guarantee my successor will slowly find them calling the Hollygrove Market & Farm a second home, partaking in the great community that has been built around it. -Bill Pastellak, AmeriCorps VISTA

To learn more about Hollygrove Market & Farm, visit their website at: http://hollygrovemarket.com/. Be sure to become a Fan of their Facebook page and follow them on Twitter for the latest news announcements and updates!

  

About Tulane VISTA

Notes from the field from the AmeriCorps VISTA team at Tulane University.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
