Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: 7th Ward Neigborhood Center

One of the few things I remember from the content of AmeriCorps’ Pre-service orientation was this ridiculous cartoon that was supposed to represent the year cycle of a VISTA’s emotional state on the job.  I can’t remember the exact cartoon, but it involves a man on a tight rope in various positions throughout his year of service.  I believe it is the 4 month mark when he is hanging on to the tight rope with his hands and has a terrified look on his face. 

This past month, some five months into my service, I have come to identify with this particular tight rope position.  Needless to say, it was a rough month and I very seriously considered leaving VISTA and even New Orleans.  I won’t go into the details of the issues that contributed to my mini-crisis, but I will say that  what got me through it was the amount of support I felt from the network of VISTAs and VISTA alumns in the Tulane program.  I’ve made many good relationships with people who have gone and are going through similar things and I am so grateful to have this group of people to turn to.  I can’t imagine serving in a place where I wouldn’t have a group like this to rely on.  Things are still not perfect for me here, but I have truly realized how grateful I am to be in a program with so many talented and supportive peers. Laura Mellem, AmeriCorps VISTA

The 7th Ward Neighborhood Center is now on Facebook! Become a Fan today!

About Tulane VISTA

Notes from the field from the AmeriCorps VISTA team at Tulane University.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
