Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: CPS – Social Media

I have learned so much from the short period of time I have been in New Orleans, both professionally and personally. On a professional level, I am discovering my strengths along with things I would like to improve on. I realize that to be successful, one has to be a constant learner. This notion especially holds true in the nature of work I am engaging in. Technology is constantly changing, most often at a rapid rate. To remain resilient in this field you have to be a proactive student in the world of technology. To stay abreast to the latest developments I have started subscribing to a long list of industry related newsletters and magazines. I also joined a local tech-focused group. I am hoping this networking opportunity will allow me to learn from others who are familiar with the industry while also increasing my local network base. In fact, tonight I will be attending my first event sponsored by the group.  I have an even mixture of excitement and nervousness. That is one of the things I want to improve upon – my nervousness of new things. So I am hoping attending this event will be dual-pronged in its outcome. Closer to the end of January I also plan on attending a Listening Tour hosted by the Louisiana Serve Commission. I am excited for this event because I think it will be a great opportunity to learn more about the non-profit industry in Louisiana.

On a personal level, my transition to a brand new city has had its ups and downs. However, I am happy to note that the peaks and valleys of my journey are seeming to even out and things are going very well. I am becoming more familiar with the city and the people here. It is definitely a different culture here than where I grew up. Not any better, not any worse – just different. And although I do miss my family and my friends, I am starting to catch the New Orleans bug. This city is so culturally and historically rich; one can’t help but be intrigued by it. –Dominica Garza, AmeriCorps VISTA

About Tulane VISTA

Notes from the field from the AmeriCorps VISTA team at Tulane University.

Information

This entry was posted on January 11, 2010 by in CPS - Social Media and tagged , , , .

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
