Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: TU Upward Bound

“For a Tennessean and mountain-lover like me, New Orleans feels even more like home since this lovely arctic wind swooped down to the Gulf Coast for an extended visit. The bike ride to work this morning was exhilarating! I believe this is the only town I’ve lived in where I don’t typically get derided or scoffed at for riding a bike. It’s one of the many reasons I love this city and respect its inimitability.For the past 9 months, my VISTA position has allowed me to see New Orleans in a particularly authentic way compared to the manner in which most outsiders experience the Big Easy. As part in parcel of a vast network of volunteers, I have come to know countless community organizers and grassroots cultivators of culture and nature. I don’t need a sleek suit or fancy ride in order to fit in. I can live here as I am comfortable living : Sur mon vélo, dans les communautés, en train d’écouter la musique et de mieux comprendre la ville… I feel blessed.” -Holley Roberts, AmeriCorps VISTA Member

 

About Tulane VISTA

Notes from the field from the AmeriCorps VISTA team at Tulane University.

Information

This entry was posted on January 6, 2010 by in TU Upward Bound and tagged , , , .

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
