Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: Hollygrove Market & Farm

“Life here at Hollygrove Market & Farm can be difficult, fun, frustrating, and inspiring….all in one day. I remember starting at my position thinking that every thing would be cut and dry. I would come in evaluate the situation, offer up my opinions on how to change the problems at hand and get to work…WRONG! What I lacked before (and understand now) is the importance of building up my credibility in my organization before putting forth my ideas. Luckily I was able to learn this lesson no more than a month and half into my term, allowing me to adjust my strategy as needed to become a more productive and trusted member of my organization which, in turn, allows me to go after the problems I wanted to address from day one.Now, in my 8th month at Hollygrove Market & Farm, I have more responsibilities than I could have dreamed. I deal with everything from creating and managing our website to expanding our produce sales into new markets. This may seem like a wide range of activities to be working on, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. The reality of small non-profits such as Hollygrove Market & Farm is that everyone has to take on multiple responsibilities, that there is always more work than time. Though this may seem like a lot to handle, nothing is more satisfying than knowing your ideas and hard work were essential to the success of the organization.” -Bill Pastellak, AmeriCorps VISTA Member

About Tulane VISTA

Notes from the field from the AmeriCorps VISTA team at Tulane University.

Information

This entry was posted on January 5, 2010 by in Hollygrove Market & Farm and tagged , .

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
