Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: New Orleans Outreach

“The purpose of the drum is multifold.  I like to use it to drum away my troubles, beat the frustration until there is nothing left but rich sound.  I’ve learned through Outreach that the power of a drum circle is unity – the meaning behind the circle.  One person may lead – and we all follow.  We may all just play in unison.  Or, when it works really well – we each add a new and different sound – making the air sweet. 

That is why I understand that it is a blessing working with New Orleans Outreach.  It’s been about 6 months now and I can honestly say that I enjoy being a Volunteer Supervisor at Outreach.  I love the location of my office – in the heart of the education movement.  I love the genuineness of my supervisors.  I love community volunteers who treat their tutoring like a fun job.  I love hearing about a service-learner’s perspective changing experience in a classroom.  I love how a bad day can be erased by the small arms of a child who just needs you to know that they love you. Despite recurring frustrations: what I am doing here, why am I broke – how do I “create sustainability” or the better question – what does that even mean?   There is always room for error.  And with that error usually comes a lesson learned and effective results.  And yes, we bang on drums when we need a break.  But if that’s the method that leads to happy kids and me understanding why I’m here then brump-a-pom-pa!

Perhaps next month I’ll have more substance than just those rainbows and butterflies above – but that’s how I feel right now.” – Victoria (Tori) Wilson, AmeriCorps VISTA Member

For more information about New Orleans Outreach, visit their website at: www.nooutreach.org

About Tulane VISTA

Notes from the field from the AmeriCorps VISTA team at Tulane University.

Information

This entry was posted on December 16, 2009 by in New Orleans Outreach and tagged , , , .

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
